CEANTAR BARDASACH CHATHAIR CHILL CHAINNIGH MUNICIPAL DISTRICT OF KILKENNY CITY

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS OF SPECIAL MEETING HELD ON 18th NOVEMBER, 2019 AT 1.00 P.M.

Mayor, Councillor Martin Brett, Presiding.

Present:

Councillors:	Joe Malone, Andrew McGuinness, Malcolm Noonan, David Fitzgerald, Eugene McGuinness, John Coonan.
	Apologies:
Also Present:	Mr. Martin Prendiville, Head of Finance, Mr. Tim Butler, Director of Services, Mr. Ian Gardner, Senior Engineer, Ms. Anne Maria Walsh, Senior Executive Officer and Ms. Teresa Mahon, Staff Officer.

Mayor's Summons of Meeting:

Notice dated 12th November, 2019 convening a Special Meeting for this date was read.

1. Smaoinigh ar chomhairle dlí a fuarthas ar Fhodhlíthe Páirceála agus Ioncam Páirceála.

Consider legal advice received on Car Parking Bye-laws & Parking Income.

Mr. Tim Butler explained the background to the special meeting. Following the request at the Municipal District Annual Budget Meeting for details of revenue expenditure within the city and clarification on the legal position with regard to the power to retain all of the parking revenue for spending within the City.

Mr. Butler confirmed on the basis of the legal opinion that the Municipal District has the power to adopt parking bye-laws for the District and to direct their application. However, this power cannot affect any inconsistency with regard to the County Council's budget. While the Municipal District has the power to pass a resolution directing how the parking income is to be allocated and the Chief Executive must take any such resolution into account in drafting the County Council's budget. The plenary County Council has the overall authority to amend the budget in response to such a resolution of any MD.

The Members thanked Mr. Butler for the clarification and after a discussion.

It Was:Proposed by:Cllr. Joe MaloneSeconded by:Cllr. Andrew McGuinness

And agreed the adoption of the Municipal District draft budget with no amendments

A vote was held and the vote was as follows:

In favour: Cllr. Andrew McGuinness, Cllr. John Coonan, Cllr. Malcolm Noonan, Cllr. Joe Malone, Cllr. Martin Brett.

Against: Cllr. David Fitzgerald and Cllr Eugene McGuinness.

The resolution was carried.

The business of the meeting then concluded.

Signed:

MAYOR

Date: